Yes, parents can face legal consequences for truancy in Florida.
Here are some details from the search results:
- Under Florida law, parents can be charged with truancy if a child between 6 and 16 has 15 or more unexcused absences in three months.
- Parents of truant students may face criminal sanctions, including fines, jail time, and counseling if neglect played a role in the truancy.
- If a student is cited for habitual unexcused absences, they may be taken directly to a juvenile detention center.
- Students who’ve had at least 15 unexcused absences within 90 days will also lose their driving privileges.
- There are specific procedures that must be followed when a student starts to compile unexcused absences.
- Parents or guardians could face fines, jail time, and counseling if neglect played a role in the truancy.
While the specific consequences may vary depending on the circumstances, parents can face legal penalties for truancy in Florida, including fines, jail time, and counseling.
What Are The Potential Fines That Parents Can Face For Truancy In Florida?
In Florida, parents of truant students may face criminal sanctions.
Under Section 1003.27 of the Florida Statutes, a parent who refuses or fails to have a minor student who is under their control attend school regularly, or who refuses or fails to comply with the requirements established by the school district, commits a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment up to 60 days and/or a fine of up to $500.
The parent or guardian must comply with the written notice within 3 days of receipt or they can be held liable for truancy charges.
In addition to fines, parents can also face jail time and counseling.
The school district takes an active role in promoting and enforcing attendance to ensure that students attend school regularly during the entire school term.
After each unexcused absence, the principal will contact the parent.
After five unexcused absences in a month (or 10 within a 90-day period), the school will refer the case to the school social worker or the school attendance review board.
It is important to note that Florida state laws only regulate the basics of truancy charges, and your child’s school may have stricter policies and penalties with which your local attorney can help you navigate.
Is There A Specific Process Or Procedure That Parents Should Follow If Their Child Starts Accumulating Unexcused Absences?
If a child starts accumulating unexcused absences, there are some procedures and policies that parents should follow.
Here are some relevant points:
- Lawful vs. Unlawful Absences: Whether an absence is “excused” or “unexcused” should be established by district procedures and policies and be consistent with state law and regulations.
- Truancy: In South Carolina, a child is considered truant if they have three unlawful absences in a row or five unlawful absences in one year.
- Contact the School: If a child must miss school, parents should contact the child’s school and put the reason for the absence in a note.If the child misses school due to illness, a doctor’s note should be sent.
- Intervention Plan: School officials must develop a written “intervention plan” to address the student’s continued absence in conjunction with the student and parent(s) or guardian(s) .
- Approval or Disapproval of Absences: The district board of trustees, or its designee, shall approve or disapprove any student’s absence in excess of ten days, whether lawful, unlawful, or a combination thereof, for students in grades K–12.
- Referrals: School officials must provide referrals to appropriate service providers and, if available, alternative school and community-based programs.
- Make-up Work: Students are allowed to make up any work missed in order to satisfy the attendance requirement.
Can You Provide More Information About The Counseling That Parents May Be Required To Attend In Cases Of Truancy In Florida?
In Florida, parents who fail to obey court orders regarding truancy or do not fulfill the court’s orders such as participating in counseling may face criminal sanctions.
Here are some more details about the counseling that parents may be required to attend in cases of truancy in Florida:
- After each unexcused absence, the principal will contact the parent.
- After five unexcused absences in a month (or 10 within a 90-day period), the school must refer the case to the school social worker or child study team to evaluate the student’s and family’s needs and develop a plan to improve attendance.
- The child study team may implement other interventions, including referral to other agencies for family services or recommendation for filing a truancy petition.
- A designated school representative may visit the home or place of residence of a student and any other place in which he or she is likely to find any student who is required to attend school when the student is not.
- A youth may be referred to nonresidential counseling or a short-term residential counseling stay at one of the programs depending on the need of the family.
- A truancy petition may be filed, and the student or the student’s parent or guardian may be required to participate in intensive crisis counseling.
Are There Any Alternatives To Jail Time For Parents Facing Truancy Charges In Florida?
There are alternatives to jail time for parents facing truancy charges in Florida.
Here are some possible alternatives:
- Attend alternative classes: After a hearing, the court may order the student to attend alternative classes.
- Counseling: Parents can face counseling as a punishment for truancy charges.
- Fines: Parents can face fines as a punishment for truancy charges.
- Probation: Probation is a common alternative to jail or prison.
- Referral to other agencies for family services: The child study team may implement other interventions, including referral to other agencies for family services.
- Return student to parent: A designated school representative may visit the home or place of residence of a student and return the student to the parent.
It is important to note that the specific alternatives to jail time may vary depending on the circumstances of the case and the decision of the court.
It is recommended to contact a knowledgeable defense attorney to discuss the available options.
How Long Can A Parent Potentially Be Sentenced To Jail For Truancy-Related Offenses In Florida?
In Florida, parents of truant students may face criminal sanctions.
After five unexcused absences in a month (or 10 within a 90-day period), the principal will refer the case to the school’s child study team.
If the child study team determines that the student is truant, the principal will refer the case to the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) .
The DJJ will then determine whether to file a complaint against the student and/or the student’s parent or guardian.
If a complaint is filed, the parent or guardian may be required to participate in truancy intervention services and may be subject to criminal sanctions, including fines and imprisonment.
The length of the potential jail sentence is not specified.