Burn Barrels

Are Burn Barrels Illegal In Florida?

It is unclear whether burn barrels are illegal in Florida.

Here is what we know:

  • Piles greater than 8 feet in diameter require a burn authorization from the Florida Forest Service, and you are required to have suppression equipment on hand.
  • Open burning must occur between the hours of 8:00 AM CST (9:00 AM EST) to one hour before sunset.The open burning must be enclosed in a noncombustible container or be in a pile no greater than eight feet in diameter.
  • Burning garbage is illegal in Florida and can result in a fine of up to $10,000 per day.
  • Burn barrels are illegal in some states, including Alaska, California, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Massachusetts, and New York.
  • As of April 11, 2023, there is a burn ban in effect for unincorporated Citrus County, Florida.

It is important to check with local authorities to determine the legality of burn barrels in your area.

What Are The Requirements For Obtaining A Burn Authorization From The Florida Forest Service For Piles Greater Than 8 Feet In Diameter?

To obtain a burn authorization from the Florida Forest Service for piles greater than 8 feet in diameter, you need to follow the steps to getting an authorization.

You can contact your local Florida Forest Service field unit for information about burn authorizations and Florida’s outdoor burning laws.

Burning yard waste does not require a burn authorization, but you must follow the rules for your area.

Burning authorizations are required for agricultural, silvicultural, land clearing, pile, and acreage burning, and all require a burning authorization from the Florida Forest Service.

The Florida Forest Service website provides the latest information regarding outdoor burning.

Can You Clarify The Restrictions On The Hours During Which Open Burning Is Allowed In Florida?

Open Burning

According to the Florida Department of Environmental Protection and the Florida Forest Service, the restrictions on the hours during which open burning is allowed in Florida are as follows:

  • Open burning must occur between the hours of 8:00 AM CST (9:00 AM EST) to one hour before sunset.
  • The location of the open burn must be set back at least 1000 feet from any occupied building other than that of the landowner, and 100 feet from any paved public roadway, wildlands, brush, or combustible structure.

In addition, Hillsborough County specifies that for campfires, bonfires, and ceremonial fires, the pit must be a minimum of 25 feet from any structure and only clean, dry wood should be burned.

Authorization must be obtained from the Florida Division of Forestry for burns relating to land clearing, silvicultural, and pile burns.

Yard waste must be enclosed in a noncombustible container or burned in a pile no larger than 8 feet in diameter and 3 feet in height.

For broadcast burning, daytime authorizations are 8 a.m.

Central or 9 a.m.

Eastern time to one hour before sunset unless you are a Certified Prescribed Burn Manager.

What Are The Consequences If Someone Is Found Burning Garbage In Florida?

Burning garbage in Florida is illegal and can result in consequences.

Here are some relevant points from the search results:

  • It is unlawful for any person to set fire to, or cause fire to be set to, any wild lands or to build a campfire or bonfire or to burn trash or other debris.
  • Open burning is only allowed for yard waste generated on the same premise as where it’s being burned, and it must occur between the hours of 8:00 am and one hour before sunset.
  • No person shall ignite, cause to be ignited, or permit to be ignited, any material which will result in any prohibited open burning as regulated by the Florida Department of Environmental Protection.
  • Materials prohibited from burning include biological waste.
  • Burning garbage can have negative environmental consequences, as it can release pollutants into the air and soil.
  • Prehistoric trash heaps left behind by humans in Florida might have given rise to many of the tree islands found in the Florida Everglades, but this is not a justification for burning garbage today.

Are There Any Specific Regulations Or Laws Regarding Burn Barrels In Florida, Or Is It Generally Determined By Local Authorities?

There are specific regulations and laws regarding burn barrels in Florida, and they are determined by both state and local authorities.

Here are some of the key regulations:

  • The open burning must occur between the hours of 8:00 AM CST (9:00 AM EST) to one hour before sunset.
  • The open burning must be enclosed in a noncombustible container or be in a pile no greater than eight feet in diameter.
  • Piles greater than 8 feet in diameter require a burn authorization from the Florida Forest Service.
  • Agricultural, silvicultural, land clearing, pile, and acreage burning all require a burning authorization from the Florida Forest Service.
  • It is illegal to burn household garbage.
  • Authorization is not required to burn yard waste as long as you meet the required setbacks.
  • Setback requirements include being 25 feet from any wildlands, brush, or combustible structure, 50 feet from any paved public roadway, and 150 feet from any occupied structure.
  • Open burning is controlled by the Neighborhoods Department, Environmental Quality Division (EQD) of the City of Jacksonville, and the Florida Forest Service.

Is The Burn Ban In Effect For Unincorporated Citrus County, Florida, A Temporary Measure Or A Permanent Restriction On Burn Barrels?

As of April 11, 2023, a burn ban is in effect for all of unincorporated Citrus County, Florida.

The burn ban applies to all types of burning, including campfires and burn barrels.

It is unclear from the search results whether the burn ban is a temporary measure or a permanent restriction on burn barrels.

However, a Facebook post from Citrus County Fire Rescue on April 29, 2023, states that a county-wide burn ban is effective immediately due to the significant rainfall deficit leading to drought-like conditions, making Citrus County very dry.

This suggests that the burn ban may be a temporary measure until the weather conditions improve.

It is important to note that it is illegal to burn household garbage in Citrus County, and authorization is not required to burn yard waste as long as the required setbacks are met.

Chris is a Midwest Transplant that has lived in South Florida since 1999. While he likes to remain active and is an avid sports enthusiast, he's become our go-to provider of reviews of any establishment serving food and booze!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *